Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Pop ups

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 51 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Pop ups

    Whats with all the popups now. Every time I click on a link I get three new pop ups.


  2. #2
    Head_Monkey Guest

    Default Re: Pop ups

    U think that's bad?

    IE8 crashes when I go to the Newsgab homepage! Anyone else have these problems?


    EDIT: If I bypass the front page, I get it to load. But I don't get any popups.

    Are the popups being generated o nthe front page? Do they appear when you load the page, or click on the page?


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Perth - Western Australia
    Posts
    5,347
    Thanks
    2,971
    Thanked 2,986 Times in 1,488 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    Hey guys, if your logged in you shouldn't ever get any popups. Can you confirm if your logged in mate?

    Also Monkey, the front page is switched off (or it should be). Can you provide a screenshot of what your browser looks like bud? Is it just a blank screen?

    Cheers

    Chief

    Admin / Webmaster - http://www.newsgab.com

    How to Title Threads / What content is banned? Check out our Site Rules

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Jersey U.S.A.
    Posts
    8,994
    Thanks
    14,033
    Thanked 12,072 Times in 4,271 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I'm not having any issues in Firefox, but the tab does crash in IE8. It also wants to install MS HTML Editing Control......

    Attached Images Attached Images
    “Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” -John Wayne
    "With age comes the realization of mortality" -Tom Woods

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    114
    Thanks
    3
    Thanked 51 Times in 20 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I am logged in and using Firefox. I've also ran my adware program I thought maybe something else was causing it.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4,810
    Thanks
    414
    Thanked 1,751 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I got 2 when not logged in but since logged in haven't seen a one on Firefox.


  7. #7
    Head_Monkey Guest

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I've attached a screen cap of the main page as it loads. I think it's the right side panel causing it as I cna browse other pages without issue.

    Clicking round other pages does not generate popups (when not logged in). Must be something on the front page only.

    Attached Images Attached Images

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Perth - Western Australia
    Posts
    5,347
    Thanks
    2,971
    Thanked 2,986 Times in 1,488 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I've made some 'adjustments' mate - any better?

    Admin / Webmaster - http://www.newsgab.com

    How to Title Threads / What content is banned? Check out our Site Rules

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4,810
    Thanks
    414
    Thanked 1,751 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    That's the anti-monkey keep away code doing it's job.


  10. #10
    Head_Monkey Guest

    Default Re: Pop ups

    Quote Originally Posted by Chief View Post
    I've made some 'adjustments' mate - any better?
    Sadly no. Still crashes.



    BTW, how goes the receipe forum section? I have some good turtle soup receipes tp post...


  11. #11
    Head_Monkey Guest

    Default Re: Pop ups

    Update: I lkogged on via the Blogs page, and went to the forum home page... and it didn't crash!

    Is anyone else able to replicate my or xtrmes problems?


  12. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Perth - Western Australia
    Posts
    5,347
    Thanks
    2,971
    Thanked 2,986 Times in 1,488 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I made some changes again earlier mate.

    Do you still have the same issue now coming straight in via the front?

    It's a pretty difficult one this as It works fine for me in both IE and Firefox

    Admin / Webmaster - http://www.newsgab.com

    How to Title Threads / What content is banned? Check out our Site Rules

  13. #13
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    US of A
    Posts
    4,810
    Thanks
    414
    Thanked 1,751 Times in 992 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    I tried come here using http://www.newsgab.com with win7 IE 8.07 and even before I logged in I didn't get any popups or crashes.


  14. #14
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    New Jersey U.S.A.
    Posts
    8,994
    Thanks
    14,033
    Thanked 12,072 Times in 4,271 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    Good for me too.....

    “Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.” -John Wayne
    "With age comes the realization of mortality" -Tom Woods

  15. #15
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    16,201
    Thanks
    10,432
    Thanked 6,377 Times in 4,132 Posts
    Rep Power
    10

    Default Re: Pop ups

    Work good for me, logged out no popup, and logged in no popups or crashes. :thumbup


Tags for this Thread

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •